Keen Bryce WP Hiking Shoes- Men’s Review

So for a couple years now I’ve been searching for what I’d consider to be the perfect shoe for my needs, but still haven’t found it. Although I DO like the Keen Bryce WP Hiking Shoes, they could still use some improvements and here they are:

  1. Make the toe box wider. I have wide toes and I’ve heard that Keen Shoes are built with a wider toe box than most, but it doesn’t seem to be the case on this model shoe.
  2. Get rid of the mesh material and make the exterior all waterproof leather. The mesh just tears over time, and the untreated leather gets saturated and remains so until the weather dries up.
  3. Perform submersion tests on all the “KEEN-DRY” waterproof membranes to check for leaks before installing them into the shoes. As has been the case with every other supposedly waterproof shoe I’ve tested out (with the exception of the Danner Gore-Tex Combat Hiker Military Boot- see review) these shoes leak water. I paid $125 for these shoes to keep my feet dry in wet weather and my feet got wet. 😦
  4. Use more durable materials on the inside parts of the shoes. It didn’t take long at all for my heals to wear out holes in it.
  5. We all know by now that we have to buy Keen Shoes half a size bigger than normal. I’m regularly a size 10.5 but I had to get these in an 11. There’s no good reason for this. Please fix it.
  6. And finally, although it’s not nearly as important as the other things listed, I’d prefer if there wasn’t any reflective material on these shoes. It’s a hiking shoe, not a road running shoe, and it cramps my style.

Okay, so now that you’ve heard my criticisms about these shoes, here’s what I DO like about them:

  1. I like the style, shape, and color.
  2. I like the rubber toe and heal guards.
  3. I like the flexible soles
  4. And I like that these shoes have hardly given me any blisters.

If all noted adjustments were made to these shoes, I’d happily buy the new, revised model, and I would encourage others to do so as well.

Posted in Gear Reviews

Leave a Reply

