Tilley LTM6 AIRFLO Nylamtium Hat Review

Has it ever happened to you that the stars align just right and the exact thing you’re looking for, detail-for-detail, comes your way? Well that’s precisely what happened to me with this hat. For several years prior I had been making use of a cotton, military Boonie hat for all my outdoor, sunny-weather needs. It served me well, for the most part, but the brim could have been wider to protect my face and neck a bit better from the sun. In addition, after countless foldings the brim became floppy and shapeless, and took on a “dorky” appearance. What I really wanted was a durable nylon, olive green, well-ventilated, cowboy-style hat with a drawcord, that I could still fold up and would maintain its shape. I had checked out the sun hats at REI on a couple occasions to find what I was looking for, but to no avail.

Then one day it found me. I was volunteering at a festival last fall when a friend who worked for the organization and was in charge of lost and found had, out-of-the-blue and unprompted, produced a brand-new, unclaimed hat found at a previous festival and asked me if I wanted it. I couldn’t believe my eyes! It was EXACTLY the hat design I had been looking for all this time! It was the Tilley LTM6 AIRFLO Nylamtium Hat.

As it turns out, not only does it match all the details that I had specified that I desired, but it also has a hidden storage pocket and floats in water. To make matters even better this hat is insured against loss, so I don’t have to feel bad for the poor soul who spent the $79 on it and then proceeded to lose it before ever having a chance to wear it. It’s really incredible how things work out some times. 🙂

Posted in Gear Reviews

Leave a Reply

